Far from the heartless city

‘Home is where the heart is’ – Quote

‘Koi lauta de mere beetey hue din’ is one of the most memorable songs sung by versatile singer Kishore Kumar. There is so much depth in the lyrics as well as pain in the song. A person yearns for his old happy days requesting someone to bring back his old times. Nowadays this is the plight of every person living in city including me. Be it New York, Sydney, Mumbai, Bangalore or any city in this world, the city is bustling with cynics. In my past 10 years in this corporate world, I have minutely faced the cynicism of the heartless city people. Is the city too fast forward or I am too slow to adapt to its swiftness? I will never know the answer. The dreams which I had aspired to make it big in the corporate world came tumbling down when I realized that world is not as I had thought for. We see the world according to our perceptions, emotions and feelings and expect the same response from others. This is where disappointment begins. The hands that extended towards me for friendship were most opportunists, manipulative and cunning. The wisdom dawned on my mind very late. I pity on those people who recharge their mobile with high talk time options. But do they have that intention and time enough for their friends? I too extended my friendly hand towards people only to realize that no one was ready to shake hands. The city has become very cynical to a great extent. Corporate firms boast of great job opportunities, lucrative perks and encouraging work environment.
What you see later is the opposite picture of what has been shown? Horrible bosses, nagging team leads, cold & insensitive colleagues and above all a negative work environment. There is no place for genuine feelings. Everything is calculative, mechanical and opportunistic. Is this what I had aspired for? Is this what I dreamt for? I am desperately missing the old days which I still cherish it in my heart – the old school friend, my loving relatives, a forgotten crush and the paper boat which has drown somewhere deep in abyss.

‘Udaas hai mohalle ka paani aaj kal. Lagta hai kaagaz ki naav bananey wale bachchey bade ho gaye’ – Hindi quote

There is lot of depth in this Hindi quote which implies that nowadays no one is interested in making paper boats. All kids are now grown up. Life has become robotic and people are behaving like machines. A simple heart has no place in this city. Today the strength of love is measured by lavish treats, luxurious shopping, heavy bank balance and an imported, posh car with air condition. This is what today’s 21st century girl aspires for. Isn’t she right? Nowadays girls choose a rich boy with a poor heart than choosing a poor boy with a rich heart. Even love has become calculative.

‘Seeney mein jalan, aankhon mein toofan sa kyon hai, iss sheher mein har shaks pareshaan sa kyon hai’ – lyrics from movie ‘Gaman’

Through his short stories and full length novels, Ruskin Bond has captured the happiness of small towns, hill stations and villages. Despite being such a celebrated author, Ruskin still lives in a small town of Mussoorie. He still prefers writing letters and posting it in postboxes. When I read ‘Night train at Deoli and other short stories’ penned by Ruskin, I too feel to leave this city and retire to a simple life in a small town which can give some place to me in its big heart. Ironically the city is big, but there is no place for emotions, truthfulness and kindness. I guess it is time for me to pack my bags and disappear somewhere in a small hill station or a town where I can live my life as per my comfort. It is time to say good bye to the heartless city. I conclude my feelings with this beautiful song sung by Kishore Kumar.

‘Gaadi bula rahi hai, seeti baja rahi hai, chalna hi Zindagi hai, chalti hi jaa rahi hai’

One thought on “Far from the heartless city

  1. It is entirely subjective. One cannot force someone to spend a life in a place where the same is not at all comfortable or secure. I loved your article Prashant and I admire your line of thinking, though my own thought is different from that. I have been born and brought up in Bombay and nothing, in this world, can ever split me apart from my hometown. I can tour the whole world, I can complain about the city’s crowds and mess but I can never ever get over my love for Bombay and the great, giddy elation that I feel when I return to the arms of my city since it is my home..

Leave a Reply

