The day I decided to quit writing…….

Writing is not everyone’s cup of tea. Writing is a craft which cannot be taught. It is like learning to swim on your own. Once you take a dip in the sea, you can’t survive unless your limbs start moving. I was proud to hone this craft until that day when my so called boss (or a presumed editor) criticized my writing piece by crumbling it in his hands and handing it over to me. That incident struck like a thunderbolt. I started suspecting my own writing qualities. Was I so poor in my writing skills or was it the world that was bent on seeing me quit writing? My writing materials were criticized every day with red marks all over it. It was scorned, rejected, disapproved.

Visual of a typewriter is always inspiring for budding writers

The red marks on the paper reflected the bleeding of my heart. I realized enough was enough. I couldn’t muster up the courage to continue my writing endeavors. I decided to quit writing. Even my so called friends advised me to quit writing. Some feel that writers are born failure. What a stupid misconception!! When I thought of quitting writing I realized why did I start it? Just to quit. This is not how the story is going to end.

Sylvia Plath had to face lot of heart breaking rejections in her writing career

Author Sylvia Plath’s writings were so miserably rejected that she committed suicide. Ironically she won a Pulitzer Prize for her writing works posthumously. Writer Thomas Hardy was so severely criticized for his prose that he gave up writing novels. Even Stephen King, the celebrated writer of horror genre once threw his writing materials in dustbin. It was his wife who picked his writing materials from the dustbin and encouraged Stephen to keep writing. The manuscript of Harry Potter book was rejected 20 to 30 times until it became a phenomenal landmark in literature. What if J.K.Rowling had decided to quit? We wouldn’t have been reading and seeing Harry Potter adventures in books and movies. In one of my interviews, the interviewer told me that my writing lacked the spice and flavor to attract readers. Really my writings don’t have the spice and flavor because I am not a cook  I write what I feel from the core of my heart. 99 % of the editors really don’t understand the craft of writing. They job is to reject the work of aspiring writers.

Even Ernest Hemingway had to face rejections

It is been 8 years since that discouraging day when I decided to quit writing. I may not become a successful and celebrated writer like Amish Tripathi, J.K. Rowling, Dan Brown or Stephen King, but I will continue writing irrespective of my writing medium – Blog, Articles and books. It is my devotion, conviction and belief towards my craft that keeps me going.

If I had quit writing 8 years back, I wouldn’t have been writing this article. There may be times when I will stumble and fall down.

But why do we fall? So that we can learn to pick ourselves up. – Lines from movie Batman begins.

One thought on “The day I decided to quit writing…….

  1. Rejection, of course, is the part and parcel of every writer’s life. I remember that I and my friend had contacted a comic book publisher in the comic-con in Bombay and he had promised to give our budding script a definite consideration. When we sent it to him, after investing all our effort and taking time off from our busy work schedules, we were aghast at his feedback. He said that we had done nothing at all apart from sketching a basic layout and we had not even developed the plot when, in fact, we had spent so many months on doing that only. It is indeed heartbreaking.

    But then, when I read a post as heartwarming and wonderfully inspiring as this one, I feel that it is great to be a writer, even a rejected writer. Sometimes, we writers cannot communicate ourselves to the world outside our frame and we do that by our words. Even if nobody reads them, we always have ourselves to come back to.

    This is just the kind of inspiring stuff that I would recommend to every budding writer out there. Well done, Prashant. This was really special.

Leave a Reply

