The untold story of Edith Evans

The untold story of Edith Evans

The story of the doomed cruise liner RMS ‘Titanic’ has always compelled me to research the untold mystery behind its sinking which claimed the lives of thousands boarding on the liner. The disastrous collision of Titanic resulted in deaths of 1,517 people on board leaving scars of separation, agony, pain in hearts of their beloved ones. But in this hour of crisis, one young woman dared to face the odd moments by offering her seat to a mother in the life boat and chose death over life. The name of the woman was Edith Corse Evans. Several motion pictures, documentaries have been made on the incident of Titanic sinking which focused more on the technical aspect behind its collision with the ice berg. But sadly, very less has been written about Edith Evans who smilingly gave up her life with a noble intention to help a woman unite with her children.

Born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania to a wealthy family, Edith Evans was the second daughter of lawyer Cadwalader and Angeline Burr Corse. Edith had a sister called Lena Cadwalader Evans, who was a well-known painter. Living in New York for a long time, Unmarried Edith had a keen interest in genealogical studies

           Edith Corse Evans (21 September 1875 – 15 April 1912)

Edith never expected that this journey will be her last journey of her life. On the evening of April 10, 1912 Edith boarded RMS Titanic at Cherbourg to return back to her homeland after attending a family funeral in England. During the journey, Edith got a good companionship of group of sisters – Mrs E.D.Appleton, Mrs John Murray Brown and Mrs R.C.Cornell.

As Titanic crushed against the iceberg, the race for survival became fierce among the passengers who were dying to search life boats. The officers of Titanic rapidly started lowering lifeboats for women and children in the sea with a view to save as much lives as possible. Edith Evans and Mrs Brown were guided towards lifeboat by the officers, but the lifeboat was left short as it could accommodate only one person. Mrs Brown was desperately missing her children and was yearning to unite with her children. Edith realized her situation and allowed Mrs Brown to sit in the lifeboat because she knew there was the family waiting for Mrs Brown. The lifeboat left carrying Mrs Brown and other passengers. Unfortunately there was no lifeboat left for Edith. Even in the turmoil of terror Edith was fearless, with a satisfaction of saving a life. Slowly, the ocean liner started sinking in the sea carrying Edith Evans and several other passengers who were destined to get the ocean burial. As predicted by a fortune teller, Edith Evans was supposed to stay away from water, but destiny had different plans. The body of Edith Evans was never recovered and there was no evidence or photograph of her. On April 22, 1912 a memorial service was held in her memory remembering her extraordinary courage in hours of crisis. I had read the story of Edith Evans in a Marathi book which told the stories of courageous people all over the world. The saga of Edith Evans was etched in my mind and after researching as much data on her life I have taken a small effort to retell the legend of Edith to all the readers and inspire them to face the adversities of life with determination. Such a great sacrifice! Hope someday a motion picture will come up to project on the life of Edith Evans.

19 Comments Add yours

  1. eric says:

    I have information about the Titanic “hero” Edith Corse Evans and the address of her mother in NYC and where her dear sister Lena Evans is buried in CT.
    I’ll be happy to give the information to anyone who e-mails me
    at tortoise112002@yahoo.com

  2. The Titanic was an ocean liner, NOT A CRUISE LINER…

  3. I would like any information you have on her family. I am a Evans and tracing my family tree she looks so much like my family. I would appreciate any information. Ms Evans says:

    Hi I am looking to trace my family. I would like the address an mother an sister information. My father’s last name is Evans and we know the family goes back to England and came to Texas from a Tennessee.

    1. nevaticca says:

      Hello cousins! Edith was a cousin on my great-grandfather Printess Evans side. I have quite a bit of information and would like to exchange with any you all may have as well. 🙂 Feel free to email me at nevaticca78@gmail.com.

      1. brandyewine says:

        You have ancestry from Tennessee I’m in Johnson City Tennessee (about 2 hours from Dollywood) and there are a lot of Evans here. Quite a few that I know Michelle Robert & Kelly Evansh

      2. Kathy Evans says:

        I I realize that you wrote on the site for Edith Evans with family information a long time ago. I am praying that you still have this e mail address. I too, am an Evans, and have been told years ago that we had a family member go down on the Titanic. I searched years ago with not an “Evans” aboard. Years before the computer. I hope I hear from you.
        Thank you,
        Kathy Evans

  4. Zoeb says:

    Brilliant article….so gripping…..and opened my eye to unsung feats of heroism…

  5. Rameshwar says:

    Good Article. I also remember the story read in our school books telling about Miss Evans. Unfortunately, her name is no where revealed while making the film Titanic. The makers of this film forgot to take care of her greatness to give up her life for a noble cause of uniting a family.

    1. suryakant says:

      “Miss Evans & her sacrifice” was the name of the lesson in our book (SSC .. March 1971 .. Mumbai)

      1. prashantb says:

        Thanks for responding.

  6. Tami says:

    God called home an angel when she died

  7. Sherry says:

    Beautiful article! I enjoyed it thoroughly and learned of a passenger I had not heard of yet. Thank you

  8. Sharon Craig says:

    What a beautiful story, but I don’t believe it is a “legend”, which is a 1/2 truth. This is a story of a courageoys, selfless act performed by a noble and no doubt Christian woman. The Scripture says greater love hath no man than this that a one lay down his life for a friend. I’m looking forward to seeing Edith Evans in Heaven one day. Thanks for sharing.

  9. Jess says:

    Self sacrifice to save another faith in humanity exists, stories like this give me hope
    Thankyou this was beautifully written as well

  10. Robert Blake says:

    Excellent! A well deserved piece about this giant of a person.
    Bob Blake

  11. Anne Holmes says:

    Nice story, but not necessarily true! Read Wikipedia and other posts about this. Of course, we’d all like to believe it’s true.

  12. Jeannette says:

    I am Edith..well a new body..my name is Jeannette..I have a long story to tell and how I became aware of my previous life as Edith..not sure if this means anything but worth a try..

  13. Eliza Elphinstone says:

    For God’s sake, if you’re going to bother to post allegedly historical information, get someone who can write English properly to write it for you. This is gobble-do-gook, a mess.

    1. prashantb says:

      I appreciate your comments. Thanks for reading and disliking it.

Leave a comment