Far away from the writing table

Everybody can write, but everybody can’t really write like a writer. It requires tremendous imagination, ideas, passion for words, characters and stories. A writer can’t write a story if he is not in love with words. There is a love and hate relationship between writer and his story. The writer has to gulp seven or eight cups of coffee to refresh his mind. Countless crumbled papers are scattered on the floor. Nothing is scary for a writer than a blank page. Even seasoned writers sweat down while starting their new work. Words fail to obey us. Mind gets blocked. There are days when I can’t write a single word on the paper or word processor. At that moment, I stop writing. I don’t think about the story. I leave the writing room. Online distractions are one factor that hamper the writing process. I prefer to take a technological fast. When we fast to maintain our health, then why not refrain ourselves from social networking sites for a week. There is a lot to do offline than online. I clean my desk, stroll for a while, meditate and call out to my friends.

A rare pic of Ernest Hemingway

Writing comes from life. Writing comes from observing things around our lives. We have become absorbed in our mobile phone screen that we fail to notice things around us. As a writer, one needs to have a glance at the surroundings around him. Had Tagore not observed the nature around him, he would have never written Gitanjali. I learnt a lot about writing from Ruskin Bond and R.K.Narayan. Their school of thought about writing process is out of the world. They observe people and nature around them. Even if I am not writing, the stories keep hovering in my mind. They are in my mind. It just takes the courage to start writing. Now I am back to my writing desk writing this article – Far away from the writing table.

A writer can stay away from his table, but never away from his stories.

Leave a comment